Garage Doors | Increasing Home Value


Spending Money on a Garage Door.
Is it Worth it?

According to research 71% of home owners believe that upgrading their garage door of there home would increase the value of their home. Were they correct? When real estate agents were shown “before” and “after” photos of houses that upgraded with new, stylish garage doors, they increased the estimated list price of the home anywhere from one to four percent. That means a $2,000 investment in a garage door could potentially increase the value of your home by as much as $7,000 if you’re selling a $175,000 home.

When we take a snap shot of the front of a home, in most cases the garage door will take up one third of the house. Thus by changing the style and adding chic design or a more modern appeal can give it that punch that you were looking for.

As well, depending on the area you live in, garage doors with certain features will have more appeal. Example, a reinforced door that can help prevent damage from hurricanes. In fact researchers point out that the main entry point for severe winds to a home during a hurricane is the garage. Not only does the design matter but the “muscle” behind it.

With that in mind and understanding the value of a good quality garage door, will certainly up the value of any home.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Hey, I can’t view your site properly within Opera, I actually hope you look into fixing this.

    Reply
  2. This is great post about garage door. I actually searched for this type of post. Thus i am here. I read the post and amused to see its content. This is really a helpful post promoting some aspects of garage doors. Thanks for sharing this kind of informative post. locksmith service la Crescenta

    Reply
  3. Hey according to me your post is really awesome. Yes if we invest $2000 on our garage door it will make a change in selling your house.

    Reply
  4. As I read your blog I also think that garage door should be made of good material.

    Reply
  5. This is a great post. I am looking to sell my condo and I asked my Realtor if my garage door would affect the price and she told me it would be negligible. I really didn’t want to believe that as its such a huge first impression when someone see’s your place. Thanks for this post I will be talking with some pro’s about garage doors for my home now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

