Garage Door Openers – The Dark Side


When you purchase a garage door opener, what comes to mind? Most likely a device that will help you open and close your garage door. Well not for John Eady, 61, from Sheffield. He discovered that the device used to opener doors could also be used to block police scanners.

Not Just a Garage Door Opener

The device is the Target LT (Laser Track) 400, is used to send a signal to your garage door as you approach to tell it to open. The manufactures of the product though realized that it also will interfere with police scanner. This being said, are people really buying it for a garage door opener?  The LT400 is said to be the first device of its kind available in Britain and is sold with the warning that it should only be used for the purposes for which it was designed – opening things. Even the sales reps are quoted as saying “as well as functioning as an automatic remote control system, the LT400 is also an effective counter-measure against police speed laser guns.” The manual does give you a warning “Please be aware that to use it to actively interfere with police laser guns may be deemed an offence.”

 

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Excellent site. Lots of useful info here. I’m sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks for your sweat!

    Reply
  2. Good day: many thanks for taking the time of writing up this important information. I consistently make an attempt to even more my understanding of issues. No matter if I agree or disagree, I like info. I take into account the previous times when the only supply of important information was the library or the newspaper. They the two appear so out of date. : )

    Reply
  3. I found your weblog web site on google and examine a couple of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I simply extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Looking for forward to reading more from you later on!…

    Reply
  4. I like your intriguing post. brilliant information. I hope you produce others. I will continue watching

    Reply
  5. Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the excellent work!

    Reply
  6. Diablo 3 Hardcore

     /  April 23, 2012

    Nice post dude, I love this blog. Do you mind if I use this for my school project? Thanks

    Reply
  7. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on numerous websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

    Reply
  8. I personally really want to take note of this particular blog,
    “Garage Door Openers – The Dark Side | Overhead | Garage Door Parts” on my
    personal web-site. Will you care if perhaps Ido? Thanks ,
    Beulah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

