Garage Doors | How to choose the right material?


Can't Take Anymore!

Purchasing or replacing a garage door can be a frustrating experience. Call for prices, check your budget, search for reviews, I am tired just thinking of it! First, we all want to get the best bang for our buck. We want to stretch the dollar as far as we can, while getting a good quality product. Second, (if you’re like me) you think that the sales person is more concerned with the sale then what you actually need. How can you choose the right material, with out the pushy sales-rep? Well we need to start with the basics, what is the garage door made of?

Garage Doors | Steel

Steel is the probably the most popular material for residential and commercial garage doors. When you hear the term “cheap garage doors”, yes you guessed it, it is steel. Compared with other material steel is one of the cheapest. The one benefit is that steel garage doors are durable and do not require a lot of maintenance, this can save you money done the road. No need to stain it with the change of seasons and less likely to break when you kids start kicking the soccer ball against it (though it might leave a nice dent).

If though you are one of those energy saving people, this might not be your choice, as it usually isn’t insulated. Also if you’re concerned with noise, ya cross this one out. When you open and close your garage door it is going to be loud. Though when your kids kick the soccer ball, you’ll know!

When choosing a steel garage door you must keep in mind that it will come in various gauges. Gauges? The gauge lets your know the thickness of the steel. The higher the number the thinner the steel. The lower the number the thicker the steel. The average residential house will have a gauge of 27-28, while commercial doors will have a gauge of around 24.

Garage Doors | Aluminum

Aluminum is very similar to steel but lets just say that it won’t be a “maybe” if the soccer ball leaves a dent, it WILL! Though if you really need to save your pennies then aluminum is your choice.

Garage Doors | Wood

Wood garage doors are excellent to increase the appeal of your home, but the garage door maintenance is increased. Wooden garage doors come in numerous finishes and styles as well as the possibility of decorative windows and hardware. The garage door cost will be lower if it is painted with flat hardboard panels, but stained doors look better(though usually a little more).  Most wood doors must be re-stained frequently as well as regular garage door maintenance to avoid wood rotting and splintering. Wood is a natural insulator, while steel will suck in the cold. It is important to know that steel can be insulated to offer better energy conservation.

These are just 3 of the most common garage door material types that you will encounter. Keep in mind that no matter the material maintenance and repair is needed.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. I believe there are also some steel doors that have been painted to look like wood, giving the durability and reliability of steel without the weight or cost of a fully wood door.

    Reply
  2. I like this web site it’s a master piece! Glad I found this on google.

    Reply
  3. Hi are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Reply
  4. Really intriguing article. I thought your post is truly absorbing. I will come back in the near future.

    Reply
  5. I definitely wanted to post a simple message to be able to express gratitude to you for these marvelous guidelines you are writing at this site. My particularly long internet search has at the end of the day been recognized with pleasant insight to share with my friends and classmates. I would state that that most of us readers are undeniably fortunate to dwell in a decent place with many wonderful people with beneficial pointers. I feel quite happy to have discovered your entire website and look forward to tons of more fabulous times reading here. Thanks a lot again for everything.

    Reply
  6. Personal Injury Lawyer Philadelphia Nice one, you can find actually some wonderful details on this article a few of my subscribers might obtain this handy, will mail them a weblink, a lot of thank you.Personal Injury Lawyer Philadelphia

    Reply
  7. I really like what you’ve done with the thmeme but I was asking myself if you are the one that created it or you just bought it and customized it?

    Reply
  8. Hey would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a fair price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

    Reply
  9. Hi, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, excellent blog!

    Reply
  10. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    Reply
  11. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of Garage Doors | How to choose the right material? Overhead | Garage Door Parts . Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

    Reply
  12. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

    Reply
  13. Hi, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, great blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

